Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Published 01/04/2013 by supernaturalreadingaddict

Title:                   The Madman’s Daughter        
Author:              Megan Shepherd
Pages:                 358
category:           Supernatural, historical

The story:

London, 1894. Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself-working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumours about her father′s gruesome experiments. But when she learns her father is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations were true.

Juliet is accompanied by the doctor′s handsome young assistant and an enigmatic castaway, who both attract Juliet for very different reasons. They travel to the island only to discover the depths of her father′s madness: he has created animals that have been vivisected to resemble, speak, and behave as humans. Worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island′s inhabitants. Juliet knows she must end her father′s dangerous experiments and escape the island, even though her horror is mixed with her own scientific curiosity. As the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father′s genius-and madness-in her own blood.

( Taken from Goodreads )

The view of a book addict:

No that was the only word I thought when I read the last few sentences of this wonderful book. I saw a couple of reviews for this book on other blogs and when I found it in the bookstore a couple of weeks ago I just knew I had to have it. So I bought it and started reading it, and I loved it from the first sentence.

I love historical books set in Victorian England and although this book doesn’t stay in England it was still something that draw me in. Throw in the whole mad scientist thing and I’m hooked.

The characters were all a mystery to me until the very end of the book. I never suspected what was going to happen and that made me want to turn the pages to find out. The writing style of this book was great if you ask me, it was easy to follow and the cliffhanger at the end of the chapters just kept you reading.

The verdict of a book addict:

I can honestly say that this is one of the best books I’ve read this year. I know that there are two more books coming and I can’t wait to read them!

Total of Ratties:

ratting system 5 rats

 

Leave a Reply

