Review: Alice in zombieland by Gena Showalter

Published 06/02/2013 by supernaturalreadingaddict

Title:           Alice in Zombieland
Author:     Gena Showalter
Pages:         404
category:   Zombies

The story:

She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

( Taken from Goodreads )

The view of a book addict:

I heard a lot of things about this book, good things and bad things. My intention when I read a book is to form my own opinion and I won’t let another review of opinion decide for me if I’m going to like a book. And that’s how I started reading this one without any judgement, and to be honest? I love every page of it! If you don’t like the book that’s okay but I think it’s one of the most original zombie books I’ve read.

Okay maybe the zombies aren’t what I expected but why do they always have to be the classic ones. In the remake of Dawn of the Dead the zombies run! So they changed from shambling creatures to creatures without a speed limit. The moment you embrace the zombies are different from any other zombie you ever read about you’ll find a great story. One I handn’t read before and one I loved and made me think just one more chapter every time I picked it up.

I love Gena Showalters writing style, it moves along, she makes you get to know the characters and be honest she makes you love the bad boys. ( okay maybe the weren’t all bad in this book ).  I loved Alice she was a strong woman, she didn’t just curl up and ready to die, she fought to survive. Another person I loved from the first sentence was Kat, her comments and just her attitude made me smile every time. And then there is Cole….. what to say about him? He’s the bad boy you can’t bring home to meet your mom, but when you do he’s polite, he’ll even hold the door for you and your mom.

The verdict of a book addict:

If you ask me this is a great book that introduces you to a different zombieworld. One that I fell in love with and want to read more about!

Total of Ratties:

                        ratting system 5 rats

 

One comment on “Review: Alice in zombieland by Gena Showalter

  • Leave a Reply

