Interview with Breeana Puttroff

Published 28/01/2013 by supernaturalreadingaddict

 

As part of the Heroines with heart blogtour I had the pleasure to do an interview with Breeana Puttroff. So please give her a warm welcome and enjoy the interview.

1. Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

Sure. I’m 35, and I’m a single mom of a goregous little girl, and writing was not my first career.  For eleven years, I was an elementary school teacher, teaching kids to write instead of writing my own stories. I loved my job, and even earned my Master’s degree in Literacy, but as my daughter reached school age, I realized I really wanted to be at home with her and teach her.

So now I’m one of those crazy moms who homeschools and cooks organic food, and drinks way too much coffee, and writes stories.

 2. When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always been a writer in some form or fashion. Even as a little girl, I filled notebooks and papers with story ideas, and started typing them out when we bought our first computer when I was about ten.
Sometime in third grade, I even contracted out an illustrator – since I can write, but not do art.  I proofread and helped him write his story, and he illustrated mine.

These days, I pay the awesome Mallory Rock for her mad skillz in graphic design.

3. What comes first? The story, the charater(s) or the idea for the novel?

Almost always, it’s the idea for the novel/the storyline. Then, as I’m planning, the right characters sort of introduce themselves to me. J

4. What would be your favorite past time activity, when you are not writing?

When I’m not writing, I’m hanging out with my daughter and teaching her. We like to hit up museums, zoos, swimming pools and other fun places, or just play games and watch movies.

5. Are there any writers ou there that have inspired you?

I’ve always been a voracious reader, and I tend to suck up inspiration wherever I can find it. Some of the writers I’ve loved FOREVER are C.S. Lewis, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Patricia Polacco, and Sharon Creech.

6. Can you tell a little more about your book: Seeds of Discovery?

Seeds of Discovery is the first book in the Dusk Gate Chronicles, which currently has five books (though the “main” storyline was completed in the fourth book).

It is the story of a teenage girl, Quinn Robbins, who uncovers a mystery about her classmate, William Rose, that changes the course of her life – or maybe it brings her back to the course her life was originally supposed to take.

7. What inspired you to write this story?

A couple of summers ago, my dad and I took my daughter up in the mountains for a day hike and picnic. We were by this river, throwing rocks in, when I noticed the broken base to what had once been a bridge that led, literally, to nowehre. You could see the old supports for the bridge in the rock face on the other side of the river.

I knew there was a story in it. That bridge became the basis of Seeds of Discovery and the books that follow it.

8. Which character did you enjoy writing about the most and why?

Oh, goodness. I really fell in love with a LOT of my characters.  Probably my favorites are Thomas, Owen, and Alvin (who are all secondary characters, interestingly enough).

9. If you could have dinner with one of your characters who would you choose and why?

I would love to have dinner with Alvin.  He’s very much an enigma in the books, and I’m sure he would be in real life, so I’d love to hear what he’d have to say to me.

10. Do you get a lot of responses from your readers?

I do. I am fortunate to have a really fantastic group of readers who take the time to send e-mails, chat with me on Facebook and Twitter, and leave comments on my blog.  I probably have the most awesome readers on the planet. J

11. What are you currently working on?

My next project is a stand-alone story, which will be a little different for me after working for so long on a series. The book I’m working on is an alternate-version “re-telling” of the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale, titled Rumpelstiltskin’s Daughter. It’s a “what-if” story, told from the viewpoint of the child Rumpelstiltskin actually did steal, but now she’s 17, and has no real idea about her past.

Later this year, I will be adding some more stories to the Dusk Gate Chronicles that fall outside of the main story line, and explore some of the other characters.

 12. Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?

Thank you so very much for sharing your precious time, and taking the chance on reading my books.  If it wasn’t for my great readers, the books would not be what they are.

If you aren’t yet one of my readers, but would like to check out my books, the e-version of Seeds of Discovery is currently free at almost every online retailer.

Thank you so much for hosting me on your blog!

Thank you so much for taken the time to answer my questions! And here is a little bit more information about Breeana Puttroff

After eleven years as an elementary school teacher, I have decided to reinvent myself (whatever that means).

Now I run my own business, play with and educate my beautiful little girl, Little Goose, and write books for young adults that can be enjoyed by everyone.

The first three books in my original fantasy series, The Dusk Gate Chronicles, are now for sale in Kindle format at Amazon.com, for Nook at Barnesandnoble.com, in the iBooks store, and at most other digital retailers. The books are also in paperback at a number of online retailers. Also, visit her at http://www.breeanaputtroff.net/.

2 comments on “Interview with Breeana Puttroff

  • Leave a Reply

