Interview: Lisa Kessler

Published 23/10/2012 by supernaturalreadingaddict

So I had the honour to interview Lisa Kessler for her blogtour!!! I’m so excited about this, so I won’t keep you waiting any longer: Give a warm welcome to Lisa Kessler

1. Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m married with two grown kids.  Music was my first love. I’ve performed in many operas and musical theater productions as well as released two music CDs.  When I’m not writing, I’m usually singing… J

 2. When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

I wrote late at night for fun for years, but it wasn’t until I visited a palm reader in New Orleans that I ever thought about publishing my writing.  She finished my reading and before I walked out the door she asked me if I was a writer.  I said no, and she smiled and told me I was going to be a famous writer one day! LOL  Six months later I had the first draft of my first novel, Night Walker, written!

 3. What comes first? The story, the charater(s) or the idea for the novel?

Usually it’s an idea that I can’t get out of my head.  The characters come to life shortly after that and then I’m off and running, typing like crazy on my keyboard! LOL

 4. What would be your favorite pastime activity, when you are not writing?

I love to sing, and I also enjoy watching movies.  I’m anxious to see Hotel Transylvania and Cloud Atlas looks interesting too!

6.  Are there any writers out there that have inspired you?

Yes! There are so many writers who have been kind to me and helped encourage me on my journey!  Kelley Armstrong and Angie Fox definitely helped keep me going!  And when Night Walker finally sold, they both gave me cover blurbs for the book!  They rock!

7.  Can you tell a little more about your book: Night Thief and the Night Series ?

Night Thief is actually a prequel to Night Walker. After I wrote Night Demon, I really wanted to go back and see Kane & Rita fall in love. They played a big role in Night Demon and the demon was very tough on them.  It was fun for me to go back in time and see their happy ending…  I hope readers will enjoy it too!

Night Thief also gives readers a peek at the differences between Night Walkers and vampires, so if you’ve read Night Walker, this book will make the Night Series world much bigger and give you a little tease about the Night Demon who awakens in the next book.

8.  What inspired you to write this story?

After I wrote Night Demon, I was really attached to Kane & Rita and I wanted the chance to let them tell their story and watch them fall in love.

How did you do your research for this story?

My son’s high school choir toured Belgium and France, and I was lucky to accompany them!  Seeing my son sing inside the Notre Dame cathedral was amazing!  And it gave me lots of super research for setting Night Thief in Paris.

 9. Which character did you enjoy writing about the most and why?

Tough choice!!!  I loved writing Rita because while she was a thief, she still managed to have her own moral standard.  She also had good reasons for her actions.  But I also LOVED writing Kane because he always seemed to know what to say! LOL  He made me swoon a few times while I wrote the book! J

 10. If you could have dinner with one of your characters who would you choose and why?

I think I’d probably choose Calisto, just because I would love to hear him talk and then watch him play the grand piano. It’d be a pretty fun dinner!

 11. Do you get a lot of responses from your readers?

I do! I’m pretty sure I have the coolest readers in the world! LOL  And it’s funny, when I get down about something it’s like a message goes out into the world and a reader chooses that exact moment to email me or send me a facebook message to let me know they read my book again, or let me know a character touched them… Or beg me for the next release date! LOL

 12. Can you tell us a little more about your street team: The Night Angels?

The Night Angels are a group of book lovers who help spread the word about my books all over the world!  We have fun in our facebook group and they get insider information on upcoming releases, new covers, etc.  Plus they’re super supportive and fun to hang out with!

If you enjoy the Night Series and my short stories, there is always room for another Night Angel!!! J

 13. What are you currently working on?

I’m working on a new contemporary paranormal titled, You Slay Me…  Think Angel/Buffy and Supernatural tv shows combined together into a paranormal romance book!  It’s been SO fun to write! J

 14.Is there anything you would like to say to your readers?

Thank you SO much for buying my books and telling your friends about them!!!  As a brand new author, it is tough to reach readers so they can find me, so every person who tells a friend is the BEST!!!  You rock!!! J

Thank you Lisa for this wonderful interview! And now for the real fun, here is the link for a giveaway, where you get the chance to win a copy of Night Thief! Click the link to go to the giveaway.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Scroll down for my review of this amazing book!

2 comments on “Interview: Lisa Kessler

  • Leave a Reply

