Review: Conjure by Lea Nolan

Published 17/10/2012 by supernaturalreadingaddict

Title:               Conjure 
Author:          Lea Nolan
Pages:             320 ( on my e-reader )
category:      Young Adult, Fantasy
The story:

Be careful what you search for…

Emma Guthrie expects this summer to be like any other in the South Carolina Lowcountry–hot and steamy with plenty of beach time alongside her best friend and secret crush, Cooper Beaumont, and Emma’s ever-present twin brother, Jack. But then a mysterious eighteenth-century message in a bottle surfaces, revealing a hidden pirate bounty. Lured by the adventure, the trio discovers the treasure and unwittingly unleashes an ancient Gullah curse that attacks Jack with the wicked flesh-eating Creep and promises to steal Cooper’s soul on his approaching sixteenth birthday.

When a strange girl appears, bent on revenge; demon dogs become a threat; and Jack turns into a walking skeleton; Emma has no choice but to learn hoodoo magic to undo the hex, all before summer—and her friends–are lost forever.

(Taken from Goodreads )

The view of a book addict:

I saw that I could request an ARC for this book and I got curious about the book because of the beautiful cover I decided to look it op on Goodreads. After reading the synopsis I decided to take a chance and request the ARC, I was so glad when I found the download for this book the next day in my inbox. I started reading this book and I seriously couldn’t put it down.

I just got sucked into the story and the characters, I loved the mystery and all the hoodoo magic! The fact that Emma had to learn everything to save her brother and best friend just made it more exciting to read the next chapter. Will she find a solution for the curse or not? Of course I’m not going to tell you the ending of this book, you just have to read it for yourself.

I loved the writing style of this book, it takes you by the hand and just takes you into an amazing world of magic and curses! It felt like I was Emma and living the story.

The verdict of a book addict:

This is an amazing book! A great first book in a series and I can’t wait to read what’s going to happen in the next book!   

Total of Ratties:

One comment on “Review: Conjure by Lea Nolan

  • Leave a Reply

