Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone by J.K. Rowling

Published 14/05/2011 by supernaturalreadingaddict

Title:               Harry potter and the Sorcerer’s stone
Author:           J.K. Rowling
Pages:             309
Catagory:        Fantasy

The story:

Harry Potter has never been the star of a Quidditch team, scoring points while riding a broom far above the ground. He knows no spells, has never helped to hatch a dragon, and has never worn a cloak of invisibility. 

All he knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley–a great big swollen spoiled bully. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years. 

But all of that is about to change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to an incredible place that Harry–and anyone who reads about him–will find unforgettable. 

For it’s there that he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic in everything from classes to meals, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him…if Harry can survive the encounter

The view of a book addict:


It’s not the first time I’ve read this book and not even the second but I still love the Harry Potter series. I’ve read the books in dutch before and now I’m reading the books in English for the first time, it feels like reading a whole new book.
I don’t have to tell you that I loved this story of course because otherwise I wouldn’t  have been reading it for so many times. I feel this is a wonderful first book in a great series. I love the characters, even the bad ones.

The verdict of a book addict:


Reading this book makes me realise again why I love reading so much. To escape the world and be taken away into a world full of magic. I can’t wait to read the next book again.

Total of Ratties:


4 comments on “Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s stone by J.K. Rowling

  • I know what you mean! I really had to get used to sorcerer's stone. Because in the dutch version it's the philosopher's stone. I don't know why they changed it for the American edition.

  • I have read this book many times as well and I think it's awesome you understand two languages well enough to read the books in both! I wish I could understand another language that well. 🙂 You make me want to revisit my collection again. I just wish I could get them on my NookColor too, because I really prefer reading on that now. Oh well. Hardcover will have to do, because it doesn't seem like they're going to do that anytime soon.-Sandra from http://sandrathenookworm.blogspot.com

  • I'm glad I understand two languages haha. I'm dutch but it takes a long time before they translate books here. And sometimes you never get the chance to finish a series because they just didn't translate the whole series.

  • Leave a Reply

